The essays were declared. Applicants pursuing scholarships wrote. Judges from four States were chosen who blindly adjudicated i.e. they got each submission with a number rather than a name. They read and submitted their scores which were blindly tabulated. The final decision was made. We can guarantee that the results that were announced at the CEOS 6th Anniversary Banquet are free, fair and unbiased.

As previously, contestants were asked to write an original essay based on one of the themes. CEOS thanks all those who submitted essays in the 2018 Essay Scholarship Contest. Special thanks goes to scholarship donor Rev Rose McElrath Slade and Sisters United in Christ and to the educators who evaluated the essays and determined the winners.

Please join us in applauding the four young men who won the scholarships this year:

  •  David Belton II, Howard University School of Divinity
  • Fitz-Earl McKenzie, Andrews University
  • Elijah Moon, Takoma Academy
  • Jordan Randle, Morehouse College.

We wish them success and God’s blessing as they continue their academic pursuits with a view to successfully achieving their chosen career. Congratulations chaps!

by Cavel Melbourne